IEEE 802.11i
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

IEEE 802.11i

Part of the IEEE 802.11 family of wireless local area network specifications, the 802.11i task group was responsible for developing a new standard for WLAN security to replace the weak WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy). The IEEE 802.11i standard utilizes the authentication schemes of 802.1X and EAP (Extensible Authentication Protocol) in addition to a new encryption scheme – AES (Advanced Encryption Standard) and dynamic key distribution scheme – TKIP (Temporal Key Integrity Protocol).

< Back to glossary

Need more information? Want to know more about what we do?
Contact Us or Call +44 (0) 1524 844669

Working together with